Anhui Province Facts

Home>>Anhui Province>> Anhui Facts

Anhui Provincial capital : Hefei City

Population: 62 millions

Geological location: Anhui Province, also called "Wan" for short, is located in the southeast of China. The province extends about 570 kilometers from north to south, and 450 kilometers from west to east, covering a total area of 139,600 square kilometers, accounting for 1.45 percent of the country's land. Anhui has 1,850 townships.

Anhui Province
Location of Anhui Province

Climate: The annual average temperature of Anhui is between 14oC to 17oC centigrade. The average annual sunshine hours are 1,800-2,500. The average frost-free period is 200 to 250 days. The annual average rainfalls are 800 to 1,800 millimeters.

Tourism resources: Anhui has abundant tourism resources, featuring many well-known natural scenic spots well-preserved cultural relics. Currently, there are five state-level scenic areas, including Mount Huangshan, Mount Jiuhua, Mount Tianzhu, Mount Langya and Mount Qiyun, three national nature reserves, 23 national forest parks and three state-level historical and cultural cities in Haozhou, Shouxian and Yixian counties. Spots of historical interest under state protection include: Ruins of Zhongdu and the Ming Emperor Tomb in Fengyang, the Site of Hexian Man, the Xuguo Arch Gate in Yixian, and the Huaxi Theatre in Bozhou. In 1999, Mount Huangshan won the International Award for Protection and Management of Cultural Scenic Spots and Mount Jiuhua was named a national model scenic spot by the Ministry of Construction. Previously, in 1998, Hefei, Huangshan, Bozhou were in the first group of Chinese cities to be awarded as excellent tourism cities.

Although Anhui Province is generally regarded as the poorest province in eastern China, it has witnessed in recent years rapid development in its transportation infrastructure. It is now much easier to access the province by plane, by train or by bus, with the most pronounced progress in railway transport; today, the province boasts a total of 2,500km of railway line, the longest in the east China region. For most of the scenic areas, however, it is normally bus that will get you the last leg.

By air: The Luogang Airport in Hefei, the provincial capital, is the center of air transport. It is now possible to fly daily directly from most of the major cities in China, including Beijing, Shanghai, Wuhan, Guangzhou, Xiamen and Qingdao. There are also airports at the Yellow Mountain, Fuyang, Anqing, Wuhu and Bengbu, making Anhui an air-traffic-intensive province.

By Train: The province now has 15 main railway lines, including three backbones, namely, Beijing-Shanghai, Beijing-Kowloon and Liangyungang-Lanzhou (extending further on to Urumqi). You may reach Anhui easily by rail from almost every corner in China.

By Bus: Anhui boasts a complicated cobweb of expressways, linking the provincial capital with cities in the province, including Huainan, Fuyang, Bengbu, Wuhu and Anqing. Bus is most convenient between Hefei and Nanjing and between Hefei and Jiuhuashan

Anhui Province
Map of Anhui Province